Meal Plan 9/20-9/26

There aren’t really words adequate to describe how much better this week went than last week. I’m not saying it was necessarily totally because I had my meals all prepped, but I think that definitely was a factor. Having that done made me feel like I was on top of my game – even if only in one facet of my life. That feeling of being ahead of the ball – even if only a little bit – makes all the difference for me.

One day I got home – and not early, actually about 40 mins later than I had wanted to get home – but because everything was already prepped I just got it started & was able to go for a walk with the kids. The sun was shining, the wind was whipping by & it was glorious. That’s exactly why this kind of organization matters – peaceful, relaxed time with my family makes my life better.

Ok, so. Here comes week two, are you ready?

Sunday, Sept 20th: we are having my family over to the new house for a Sunday late lunch/early dinner Sabbath meal. Roast Chicken, mashed potatoes, greens, salad, & mashed carrots. For dessert I’m making (boxed) red velvet cake with (canned) cream cheese frosting. Nobody tell my Gramma or my Aunt Ghee.

Monday, Sept 21: the plumber is coming to finally hook up the washing machine, & I swear to God this will be the fourth happiest day of my life. We have been here a month & some change without a washer & dryer & those of you who do it all the time, God bless you – your suffering is making saints. It’s fitting that today is also (another) minor feast for us, so a celebratory dinner is required: chicken fajitas, ranch green beans, and salad.

Tuesday, Sept 22nd: Husband has a work thing. Kraft Mac & cheese, roasted broccoli, & wine.

Wednesday, Sept 23: We are going to my brother’s soccer game, so it has to be something that can simmer alllll daaaaay – chili & bread.

Thursday, Sept 24th: Another work meeting. Leftover chili & wine.

Friday, Sept 25th: Finally, gloriously, a day with nothing! Quinoa “risotto” with mushrooms & bell peppers & salad.

Saturday, Sept 26th: As of right now there is nothing on the calendar, but I’m sure something will come up that I can’t foresee right now. Let’s say a smorgesborg of leftovers.

And, for your shopping list, you ready?

one whole roasting chicken (maybe two, probably two, we’re having my family over)
ground beef
chicken breasts
bacon
heavy cream (or half & half, or even milk if you’re counting calories, but . . . why?)
sour cream
shredded cheese
The good kind of parmesan (shredded, not “sprinkle cheese”)
quinoa
a can of black beans
a can of chili beans
a can of chili-ready tomatoes
two cans of mushrooms (it doesn’t matter, whatever’s cheap)
Chicken broth (or veggie broth if you take your meatless days hardcore)
a box (or three, however many you need) of Kraft mac & cheese
3-4 bell peppers
3 onions
garlic
a ridiculous number of potatoes (I like to get red-skinned for reasons of hackery you’ll learn here)
a bag of baby carrots (maybe 2?)
stuff to make salad
frozen kale/spinach
frozen broccoli
tortillas
a loaf of really good crusty bread, may need to buy this the day of so it doesn’t go stale

If you have a great idea please share it! Do you have a recipe that's delicious and simple? I want to know. Do you have a hack that has made your meal planning & prep easier? COMMENT WITH IT. If you have ideas, I want to hear them. PLEASE PLEASE COMMENT!

