Quinoa Risotto

This is something I figured out after my friend Jayne explained what risotto was. It’s terrible for you, but so, so delicious.

A note: I frequently make this as part of our meatless meals, but if you’re not doing meatless, brown some italian sausage & toss it in, because it is amazingly delicious.

1 cup quinoa
2 cups broth
minced garlic (I like fresh, but do you)
1 bell pepper
1/2 onion
cream/half & half/milk
‘good’ parmesan (shredded)

Dice the onion & pepper, and add them to the garlic in a deep skillet pan. Once they smell amazing, add the quinoa and the broth. Let cook covered on low for 15-20 mins until all liquid is gone.

Add the Parmesan cheese, stir it in so it melts. Slowly stir in the cream/half & half/ milk. It’ll thicken up & make it all risotto-y. 

Serve.

Or stick it in the fridge & heat it up later in the week.

5 thoughts on “Quinoa Risotto

    1. Thanks! I hope it works out for you.
      Personally, I find quinoa tricky. If you make rice with just water, it’s rice. It’s fine, pretty neutral. I find that if I make quinoa with just water it is pretty dreadful. I always have to chop an onion or some garlic up in there, & I always use broth.
      But, of course, that means having broth around, which can be a challenge, haha đŸ™‚

      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

If you have a great idea please share it! Do you have a recipe that's delicious and simple? I want to know. Do you have a hack that has made your meal planning & prep easier? COMMENT WITH IT. If you have ideas, I want to hear them. PLEASE PLEASE COMMENT!

